Archives for Parishies S

ST. Joseph Cathedral (1889)

The archdiocese’s motherchurch and thus seat of its archbishop is St. Joseph’s Cathedral. The current Archbishop of Dar-es-Salaam is Cardinal Polycarp Pengo, having been appointed by Pope John Paul II on July 22, 1992.


It is a Gothic church located in Sokoine Drive, facing the harbour, close to the White Fathers’ House. It was built by the Germans between 1897 and 1902 and consecrated as a catholic church in 1905. The cathedral is the seat of the Dar es Salaam archdiocese. One of the most notable features of the church are the stained-glass windows behind the altar.



Rev. Fr. Joseph Matumaini , Parish Priest – +255 753 500899

Rev. Fr. Joseph Mosha, Assistant Parish Priest – +255 621 220022

Prof. Fr. Dennis Wigira – +255 682656330

Rev. Fr. Frank Mtavangu – General Secretary – +255 765 189300

Schedule of Services

Holy Mass


  • First Mass – 7:00 am (Kiswahili)
  • Second Mass – 8:30 am (English)
  • Third Mass – 10:45 am (Kiswahili)
  • Fourth Mass – 11:30 am (English)
  • Fifth Mass – 4:30 pm (Kiswahili)


  • First Mass – 6:00 am
  • Second Mass – 6:45 am
  • Lunch Mass – 1:00 pm
  • Evening Mass – 5:30 pm (Wensday is in English)

Public Holidays: Mass at 8:00am

Saturday: Wedding Mass


Weekdays: After the second Mass

Saturday: from 6:00pm

Office Hours

Weekdays: 8:30am to 12:30pm and then from 3:00pm to 5:30pm

Saturday: 8:30am to 12:00 pm


Parish Council Leaders

Read more